Accreditation & Affiliations


The H. Lavity Stoutt Community College is regionally accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, 1007 North Orange Street, 4th Floor, MB #166, Wilmington, DE 19801. (267) 284-5000.

HLSCC was initially accredited on June 25, 2015, with its accreditation reaffirmed in 2022. Within the scope of this accreditation, HLSCC is credentialed to offer Associate degrees or equivalent or post secondary awards, not exceeding one year in design.


The College was established under the British Virgin Islands Community College Act of 1990 and is authorised by action of its Board of Governors, pursuant to Section 16, to confer such academic degrees and other qualifications as are usually conferred by similar institutions in those fields of education authorised by the Act, that is to say: arts, sciences, and general studies; business and management studies; computer studies; health sciences; marine studies; hospitality management; teacher education and educational administration; Virgin Islands studies; and in such other fields of education as the Minister may from time to time determine.

HLSCC is a member of or maintains memberships in the following business, educational and learned organisations:

Association of Caribbean Tertiary Institutions (ACTI)

Association of Community Colleges Trustees (ACCT)

Association of Certified Chartered Accountants (ACCA)

Association of Governing Boards (AGB)

Association for Institutional Research (AIR)

BVI Chamber of Commerce and Hotel Association (BVICCHA)

College and University Professional Association of Human Resources (CUPA.HR)

Council on Higher Education (CHEA)


Institute of International Education (IIE)

National Association of College and University Business Officers (NACUBO)

National Technical Honor Society (NTHS)

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honour Society for the Two-Year Colleges


American Boat & Yacht Council (ABYC)

Association of Certified Chartered Accountants (ACCA)

American Education Certification Association (AECA)

American Hotel and Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI)

Chartered Governance Institute (formerly ICSA)

Chartered Management Institute (CMI)

Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA)

North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP)

National Center for Construction Education & Research (NCCER)

National Restaurant Association (NRA)

Royal Yachting Association (RYA)

United Kingdom Fulbright Commission


Acadia University (Canada)

Bethune-Cookman University (USA)

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (USA)

Johnson and Wales (USA)

Missouri Southern State University (MSSU)

New England Institute of Technology (NEIT)

Park University (USA)

Potomac College (USA)

Saint Augustine’s College (USA)

St. George’s University (Grenada)

University of Hertfordshire (UK)

University of New Hampshire (USA)

University of Oxford

University of the Virgin Islands (USVI)

Take the next step.